Image

Assignment: More Advice for the Student Writers

In preparation for my third residency, we were assigned with a welcoming task/event/gesture for the incoming MFA-ers.

1. Quote of advice: “I enjoy posting feedback because that was important to me when I started–before I knew faces, and families, and quirky quirks. We cared. We heard you. We encouraged and laughed. After we met, we laughed deeper and true.”

2. A visual piece: my abstract of a journey and family/ familiarity/inclusion. Toes reveal a lot about a person–where they’ve been or where they’re going, personal priorities, definitely personality, and definitely a heightened perspective of one’s future writing goals. (I am the fourth generation to inherit a hooked left ring toe…is there a ring toe? You know, like if someone were to get it totally wrong and place an engagement ring on your toe, yeah, it’d be that one.) I think my point was toes:  journey, starts with the first step, individually not much, but together you could evoke a deep humpphh from Michael Ballent when you landed the perfect kickball in his stomach during the second grade.IMG_0512

 

 

3 responses to “Assignment: More Advice for the Student Writers

  1. Two of my toes are joined to the first joint, wonder what that means for my writing?lol! Seriously though I agree feed back is always a great gift to leave behind our footprints (at least it means we actually took time to read the piece.) i always appreciate the sweet words others leave.

    Like

  2. Kindly support me on Facebook Fanpage. Appreciate if you could please ‘like’ my page :

    https://www.facebook.com/MihranKalaydjianPianoMelodies

    Like

Leave a Reply

